Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Society Home | About GSA | Contact GSA      



Important Dates:

September 24, 2014
Abstract Submission Opens

Conference Registration Opens

November 5, 2014
Deadline for Workshop Requests
November 10, 2014
Abstract Submission Deadline
December 1, 2014
Larry Sandler Award Submission Deadline
January 16, 2015
Deadline for Early (Discounted) Conference Registration
February 6, 2015
Deadline for Hotel Reservations


2015 Meeting Organizers:


Greg Beitel
Michael Eisen
Marc Freeman
Ilaria Rebay




Larry Sandler Memorial Lecture


We invite nominations of candidates to present the Larry Sandler Memorial Lecture held on the opening night of the 56th Annual Drosophila Research Conference, March 4, 2015, in Chicago, IL. The Larry Sandler Memorial Lecture was established in 1988 by the colleagues, friends and students of Dr. Larry Sandler after his untimely death in 1987. The award serves to honor Dr. Sandler for his many contributions to Drosophila genetics and his exceptional dedication to the training of Drosophila biologists.


Any student completing a Ph.D. in an area of Drosophila research between July 2013 and December 2014 is eligible and may be nominated by his/her thesis advisor.


Past recipients of this honor are:


Bruce Edgar, 1988
Kate Harding, 1989
Michael Dickinson, 1990
Maurice Kernan, 1991
Doug Kellogg, 1992
David Schneider, 1993
Kendal Broadie, 1994
David Begun, 1995

Chaoyong Ma, 1996

Abby Dernburg, 1997
Nir Hacohen, 1998
Terence Murphy, 1999
Bin Chen, 2000
James Wilhelm, 2001
Matthew C. Gibson, 2002
Sinisa Urban, 2003

Sean McGuire, 2004

Elissa Hallem, 2005

Daniel Ortiz-Barrientos, 2006
Yu-Chiun Wang, 2007
Adam A. L. Friedman, 2008
Timothy T. Weil, 2009
Leonardo Koerich, 2010
Daniel Babcock, 2011

Stephanie Turner Chen, 2012

Weizhe Hong, 2013

Ruei-Jiun Hung, 2014


Nominations should include curriculum vitae, a thesis abstract of one or two pages, and a letter of nomination from the thesis advisor.


The winner receives complimentary airfare, accommodations and registration for the 56th Annual Drosophila Research Conference as well as a lifetime membership in GSA.


Nominations should be sent as .doc or .pdf files for receipt by December 1, 2014, to:  Erika Bach



DeLill Nasser Award for Professional Development in Genetics


In recognition of the critical role DeLill Nasser played for the discipline and for her love of genetics, in 2001, The Genetics Society of America established The DeLill Nasser Award for Professional Development in Genetics, an award for graduate students and postdoctoral trainees, to support travel costs for young geneticists to attend national and international meetings and enroll in laboratory courses. The Award is named for long-time GSA member and National Science Foundation Program Director in Eukaryotic Genetics, DeLill Nasser.


For more information and to apply, click here.



Poster Awards


Nine awards will be given for the best poster designs.  First ($500), second ($300) and third ($200) place prizes will be given to the students (both undergraduate and graduate) and postdocs judged to have the best posters.  Both scientific merit and clarity of visual presentation will be taken into account.  


To be eligible, your poster must be displayed from 11:00 pm on March 3-11:00 pm on March 7, 2014.


This competition is only open to students and postdocs. PI's are not eligible.



The Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Awards


This fund, which honors the memory of Victoria Finnerty, has been established to support travel costs for undergraduates engaged in research to attend the Annual Drosophila Research Conference. Vickie, who died in February 2011, was a long-time member of the Genetics Society of America and served the Drosophila community and the Genetics community at large in many capacities.


A wonderful geneticist, Vickie’s ground-breaking work as a graduate student used high resolution recombination analysis to dissect gene structure. This set the stage for a 35 year career in which she excelled as a gifted teacher as well as research scientist.


For more information and to apply, click here.



Drosophila Image Award


The Drosophila Image Award was established in 2004 to recognize compelling images that communicate important findings in Drosophila research.  Any image from a paper that has accepted for publication in the calendar year preceding the Drosophila Research Conference is eligible and can be submitted by the researcher who generated it.  The Award is given to the most striking image and video that clearly convey an important biological result.


Details of the competition and Award Committee members can be found at



FASEB-MARC Travel Awards


The FASEB-MARC Program provides funding for travel awards to support the participation of faculty/mentors, students, post-baccalaureates, postdoctoral fellows, and students from minority institutions and historically black colleges and universities. Underrepresented minority faculty, students, and postdoctoral fellows from majority institutions are also eligible to apply for the travel awards. The travel awards are funded up to $1,850 each for travel-related expenses and for meeting registration. Travel awards are provided as reimbursements after the meeting.

FASEB MARC travel awards are processed as reimbursements to the award recipients. An award recipient will be required to pay his/her meeting and travel-related expenses first and then request reimbursement from the FASEB MARC Program Office after completion of the meeting/conference.


To apply or for more information on the details of FASEB MARC travel awards, click here.