Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Society Home | About GSA | Contact GSA      



Important Dates

Abstract Submission Opens October 4
Conference Registration Opens October 4
Logo Design Submissions November 15
Chair's Choice Submissions December 8
Abstract Submission Deadline December 8
Conference and Housing Registration Deadline December 8
Abstract Revision Deadline December 9
Platform/Poster Assignments Online February 17

Schedule of Events

Mobile App Download
Apple, Android, and Web version

Online Planner
Desktop Version

Thanks for a great #Fungal17! The next Fungal Genetics Conference will be held at Asilomar, March 12–17, 2019.

Abstract Book (pdf)

29th Fungal Genetics Conference at Asilomar - 2017


The 29th Fungal Genetics Conference promotes the dissemination of the latest research on all aspects of fungal genetics with a focus on filamentous fungi and encourages communication and collaboration between researchers interested in genomics, gene regulation, cell biology and development, evolutionary biology, fungal-host interactions and biotechnology.


The latest advances in fungal biology are presented at plenary, concurrent and poster sessions. Presentations for the concurrent and poster sessions are programmed from submitted abstracts. Be sure to submit an abstract by December 8 to be included in this important meeting. You will have the opportunity to present your research and get feedback from a broad audience of scientists.


We are pleased to announce that Jay Dunlap, Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth, will present the Perkins/Metzenberg Lecture on Saturday, March 18.




Thank you to our generous Sponsors

Burroughs Welcome Fund Logo



DSM logo

Fungal Genetics and Biology Logo

Published by Elsevier


Monsanto logo

Novozymes Logo

Union Biometrica logo


  Zymergen Logo

Additional Sponsors:

New England Biolabs

PLOS Genetics 


Chairs of the Scientific Program

Deb Bell-Pedersen, Texas A&M University

Alex Idnurm, University of Melbourne


Fungal Genetics Policy Committee

Meritxell Riquelme (2013-2019),CICESE, Chair, 2017

Antonio di Pietro (2015-2021), University of Cordoba

Joe Heitman (2013-2019), Duke University

Linda Kohn (2011-2017), University of Toronto

Nick Read, (2015-2017), University of Manchester

Natalia Requena (2015-2021), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology - KIT

Jason Stajich (2013-2019), University of California

Gero Steinberg (2015-2021), University of Exeter

Frances Trail (2011-2017), Michigan State University


Ex Officio

John Leslie, Director, Fungal Genetics Stock Center

Kevin McCluskey, Curator, Fungal Genetics Stock Center

Marc Orbach, (FGC Grant Coordinator), University of Arizona

John Taylor, Poster Award Coordinator, University of California, Berkeley


The Fungal Genetics Policy Committee (FGPC) is elected by the participants at the Fungal Genetics Conference. Three members are elected at each meeting for a six-year term. The Chair is elected by the members of the committee.


The FGPC role is to:

  1. Provide feedback to the Scientific Organizers to ensure that there is diversity in all aspects of the scientific program. Diversity is defined as having plenary speakers that represent broad areas of fungal biology, organismal diversity, are balanced between junior and senior speakers, represent a balanced male/female ratio, and show geographic diversity. The committee also provides feedback on concurrent session topics and chairs to again ensure appropriate diversity and that all areas of fungal biology are represented.

  2. Appoint two people as Scientific Organizers of the meeting. 

  3. Provide feedback to the GSA on issues arising about the site and logistics of the meeting.