Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Home | Contact GSA      

Membership Benefits
Membership Categories
Membership Directory
Web Portal Sign-in
New Faculty Profiles
Promotional Discount Subscriptions
Discount Chemical Sales
Automatic Renewal
Group Membership
Gift Membership
Developing Country Membership










GSA Developing Country Membership Program


As an effort to engage scientists from regions of the world with extremely limited resources, GSA is pleased to extend the opportunity for those in selected countries to become full GSA members at no cost. As with all members, those taking advantage of this program will receive a personal subscription to the GSA journal GENETICS, eligibility for GSA awards and programs, discounted registration for GSA conferences, reduced author charges for publishing in GENETICS and G3: Genes|Genomes|Genetics, and more.


To be eligible for this program, the prospective member must reside (full-time) and have a valid mailing address in one of the countries listed below. Citizens and nationals of these countries will only be eligible for free membership while based in a listed country.


Those who do not currently live and work in a listed eligible country should submit their GSA membership through the normal membership program.


To request the developing country membership program, please contact the GSA membership department:


GSA Membership Department

9650 Rockville Pike

Bethesda, MD 20814





List of eligible countries*

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of the
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Kiribati
  • Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (North Korea)
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic (Laos)
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Rwanda
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

* The list of countries includes those on the World Bank Low-income Country and/or United Nations Least Developed Country list.