Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Home | Contact GSA      

History of GSA
Nobel Winners
GSA Store
Board of Directors
Past Officers











2019 GSA Board of Directors

Term Begins January 1, and ends December 31. (Date in parenthesis indicates year tenure on Board ends.)
Affiliation is for identification purposes only.


Terry R. Magnuson, PhD (2020)
Sarah Graham Kenan Professor of Genetics
Vice Chancellor for Research
Founding Chair of UNC Genetics
Denise J. Montell, PhD (2021)
Duggan Professor and Distinguished Professor
University of California Santa Barbara
Immediate Past President
Jeannie T. Lee, MD/PhD (2019)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor of Genetics and Pathology
Harvard Medical School
Molecular Biologist, Massachusetts General Hospital
Co-Director of the Harvard Epigenetics Initiative
Erika L. Matunis, PhD (2021)
Professor and Principal Investigator
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Piali Sengupta, PhD (2019)
Professor of Biology
Brandeis University


Swathi Arur, PhD (2021)
The University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center
Jef D. Boeke, PhD, SCD (2019)
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
NYU Langone Medical Center (NYULMC)
Founding Director, Institute for Systems Genetics, NYULMC
Kirsten Bomblies, PhD (2020)
Principal Investigator and Project Leader
John Innes Centre
Rebecca Burdine, PhD (2021)
Associate Professor of Molecular Biology
Princeton University
Cassandra Extavour, PhD (2020)
Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology and of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Harvard University
Pamela K. Geyer, PhD (2021)
Professor of Biochemistry
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of Iowa
Mary Lou Guerinot, PhD (2019)
Ronald and Deborah Harris Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Dartmouth College
Matthew W. Hahn, PhD (2020)
Professor of Biology
Professor of Computer Science
Director of the Center for Genomics and Bioinformatics
Indiana University
Hopi Elisabeth Hoekstra, PhD (2019)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Alexander Agassiz Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University

Early Career Director

Jordan D. Ward, PhD (2021)
Assistant Professor of MCD Biology
University of California Santa Cruz

Journal Editors

Brenda J. Andrews, PhD (2020)
Editor-in-Chief, G3: Genes|Genomes|Genetics
Professor and Chair of the Banting & Best Department of Medical Research
Charles H. Best Chair in Medical Research
Director of the Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
University of Toronto
Mark Johnston, PhD (2020)
Editor-in-Chief, GENETICS
Professor and Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
University of Colorado–Denver
Anschutz Medical Campus


Tracey DePellegrin Connelly
Executive Director
Genetics Society of America
6120 Executive Blvd, Suite 550
Rockville, MD 20852
T: 240-880-2000

Trainee Advisory Representatives

Didem P. Sarikaya, PhD (2019)
University of California Davis