Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Society Home | About GSA | Contact GSA      



Important Dates
Abstract Submission Opens Sept 27, 2016
Conference Registration Opens Oct 3, 2016
Workshop Application Deadline Nov 7, 2016
Abstract Submission Deadline Nov 10, 2016
Larry Sandler Award Submission Deadline Dec 22, 2016
Late Abstract Submission Deadline Jan 23, 2017
Early(Discounted) Conference
Registration Deadline
Feb 3, 2017
Hotel Reservations Deadline March 3, 2017


2017 Meeting Organizers
Leanne Jones, Chair
Doris Bachtrog
Claude Desplan
Amy Kiger


Download the Poster

Drosophila 2017 Poster


Thanks for a great #Dros17! Check out future meetings at the new site.


Meeting App

Navigate #DROS17 with the mobile app or online planner

Mobile App Download
Apple, Android, and Web version

Online Planner
Desktop Version

You won't want to miss this meeting where you can build relationships that are key to future collaborations.


We are pleased to announce that the Keynote Address will be presented by:
Sean B. Carroll is currently Vice President for Science Education of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His laboratory research has centered on the genes that control animal body patterns and play major roles in the evolution of animal diversity. A prominent science communicator in print, television, and radio, Carroll is the author of several books including Brave Genius, Remarkable Creatures, The Making of the Fittest, Endless Forms Most Beautiful, and most recently, The Serengeti Rules. Carroll is also the architect of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute’s science filmmaking initiative, and has served as executive producer and/or on-screen presenter of more than a dozen feature and short documentary films.


Invited Plenary Speakers

Preview the #DROS17 invited speaker lineup at the Genes to Genomes blog.

Erika Bach Bruno Lemaitre
Buzz Baum Irene Miguel-Aliaga
Julius Brennecke Francois Payre
Virginie Courtier-Orgogozo Nitin Phadnis
Marcos Gonzalez-Gaitan Julia Zeitlinger
Robin Hiesinger Marta Zlatic



Conference Organizers
Leanne Jones, Chair Doris Bachtrog
Claude Desplan Amy Kiger


Thank you to our Sponsors