Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Home | Contact GSA      


Society Awards

Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal
Genetics Society of America Medal
George W. Beadle Award
Elizabeth W. Jones Award for Excellence in Education
The Novitski Prize
The Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

Trainee Awards

Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Awards
The GSA Undergraduate Travel Awards
DeLill Nasser Award for Professional Development in Genetics
Trainee Poster Awards










The George W. Beadle Award


Nominations now being accepted

Deadline for Nominations: October 3, 2019



The George W. Beadle Award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the community of genetics researchers. Recipients of the Beadle Award must have provided service to the genetics community beyond an exemplary research career, for example by creating and disseminating an invaluable technique or tool, assisting the community with the adoption of a model system, working to provide a voice for the community in public or political forums, and/or maintaining active leadership roles.


The Award was established by GSA in 1999 and named in honor of George W. Beadle (1903-1989), the 1946 GSA president who received the 1958 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his work with Edward L. Tatum in discovering that genes act by regulating definite chemical events. The Beadle and Tatum experiments and “one gene, one enzyme” theory established the linkage between biochemistry and genetics, setting the groundwork for the development of molecular biology. Much of Beadle’s work with Tatum was done while he was a Professor of Biology (Genetics) at Stanford University in the late 1930s and early 1940s, but he spent a considerable number of years at the California Institute of Technology, (1931-1936; 1946-1961), and then at the University of Chicago (1961-1968), where he served as university president. At both Caltech and Chicago, Beadle was successful at increasing funding, the number of faculty, and the status of the institution academically.


Beadle served numerous national and international leadership roles, including as chairman of the National Academy of Sciences Committee on the Biological Effects of Atomic Radiation, president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and chair of the Scientific Council of the American Cancer Society. He also spoke before school groups and the public, promoting science education and genetics education in particular.


Because of Beadle’s contribution to the community of genetics, GSA established an award in his name to honor the man, who was not only an outstanding scientist, but also a respected academic, administrator, and public servant.


Nominees will be considered for three years without the need to update information. Recipients are generally expected to be current members of the Society.


To be considered for the George W. Beadle Award,  the nominee does not need to be a GSA member. However, nominees who are members of GSA will be given priority in the selection process. Nominees must have made outstanding contributions to the genetics community beyond an exemplary research career.

Selection Criteria

Reviewers consider the following criteria when selecting a recipient:

  • Has the nominee made outstanding contributions to the genetics community beyond an exemplary research career?





2019 Michael Snyder, Stanford University
2018 Phil Hieter, University of British Columbia
2017 Susan A. Gerbi, Brown University
2016 Susan E. Celniker, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
2015 John H. Postlethwait, University of Oregon
2014 Hugo J. Bellen, Baylor College of Medicine and HHMI
2013 R. Scott Hawley, Stowers Institute for Medical Research
2012 Therese Markow, University of California, San Diego
2011 Joseph R. Ecker, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
2010 William M. Gelbart, Harvard University
2009 Jay C. Dunlap, Dartmouth Medical School
2008 Mark Johnston, Washington University School of Medicine
2007 Robert K. Herman, University of Minnesota
2006 Fred Sherman, University of Rochester
2005 Thomas C. Kaufman, Indiana University
2004 Norbert Perrimon, Harvard Medical School and HHMI
2003 Gerald M. Rubin, University of California, Berkeley
  Allan C. Spradling, Carnegie Institution of Washington
2002 André Goffeau, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  Robert K. Mortimer, University of California, Berkeley
2001 Gerald R. Fink, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2000 John Sulston, Sanger Centre
  Robert Waterston, Washington University in St. Louis
1999 Michael Ashburner, University of Cambridge, UK