Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Home | Contact GSA      


Society Awards

Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal
Genetics Society of America Medal
George W. Beadle Award
Elizabeth W. Jones Award for Excellence in Education
The Novitski Prize
The Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

Trainee Awards

Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Awards
The GSA Undergraduate Travel Awards
DeLill Nasser Award for Professional Development in Genetics
Trainee Poster Awards










The GSA Medal


Nominations now being accepted

Deadline for Nominations: October 3, 2019


The Genetics Society of America Medal is awarded to an individual member of the Society for outstanding contributions to the field of genetics in the last 15 years. Recipients of the GSA Medal are recognized for elegant and highly meaningful contributions to modern genetics within the recent history of the field; awardees exemplify the ingenuity of the GSA membership.


The Medal was established by GSA in 1981 and recognizes members of GSA who have made recent contributions to the field.


Nominees will be considered for three years without the need to update information.


To be considered for the Genetics Society of America Medal, both the nominator and the nominee must be members of GSA. Nominees must have made an important, recent contribution to modern genetics.

Selection Criteria

Reviewers consider the following criteria when selecting a recipient:

  • Has the applicant or nominee made an important contribution to modern genetics within the last 15 years?




2019 Anne Villeneuve, Stanford University
2018 Mariana Wolfner, Cornell University
2017 David Kingsley, Stanford University and HHMI
2016 Detlef Weigel, Max Plank Institute for Developmental Biology
2015 Steven Henikoff, Fred Hutchison Cancer Research Center, University of Washington, and HHMI
2014 Angelika B. Amon, Massachuetts Institute of Technology and HHMI
2013 Elaine A. Ostrander, National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health
2012 Joanne Chory, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
2011 John R. Carlson, Yale University
2010 Barbara J. Meyer, University of California, Berkeley
2009 Marian Carlson, Columbia University and HHMI
2008 Susan Lindquist, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and HHMI
2007 Shirley M. Tilghman, Princeton University
2006 Victor Ambros, Dartmouth Medical School
2005 Stephen J. Elledge, Harvard Medical School
2004 Trudy F. C. Mackay, North Carolina State University
2003 Jeffrey C. Hall, Brandeis University
2002 Andrew Z. Fire, Carnegie Institution of Washington
2001 H. Robert Horvitz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2000 Jack Szostak, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School
1999 Charles H. Langley, University of California, Davis
1998 Ronald W. Davis, Stanford University School of Medicine
1997 Christine Guthrie, University of California, San Francisco
1996 Elliot Meyerowitz, California Institute of Technology
1995 Eric Wieschaus, Princeton University
1994 Leland H. Hartwell, University of Washington
1993 Jonathan R. Beckwith, Harvard University
1992 Maynard V. Olson, University of Washington
1991 Bruce S. Baker, Stanford University
1990 Nancy Kleckner, Harvard University
1989 Allan C. Spradling, Carnegie Institution of Washington
1988 David Botstein, Stanford University
  Ira Herskowitz, University of California, San Francisco
1987 Sydney Brenner, University of Cambridge, UK
1986 Gerald Rubin, University of California, Berkeley
1985 Philip Leder, Harvard University
1984 David S. Hogness, Stanford University
1983 Charles Yanofsky, Stanford University
1982 Gerald R. Fink, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1981 Beatrice Mintz, Institute for Cancer Research, Philadelphia